A Church of Acceptance

The Catholic Church of the Americas (CCA) teaches the Catholic faith with a loving regard for all humanity with intelligent modern positions on social issues.   The CCA uses Scripture and tradition with human experience and reason as its sources of Truth.  The Bible contains the story of God’s saving love for humanity and the Good News of Jesus Christ.  The founders of the CCA saw as paramount the development of sacramental belief.  It is agreed that the sacraments are seven in number.  The sacraments are equal gifts from God.  There are not major and minor sacraments.  All sacraments flow from our Baptism and unite us as a People of God.  The Church is the fundamental sacrament of God’s promise and deliverance of the reign of God in Jesus Christ.  It is the “sacrament of universal salvation.”  The sacraments of Eucharist, Baptism, Confirmation, penance, anointing of the sick, marriage, and holy orders are acts of God, but acts of the Church in that they are expressions of the nature and mission of the Church.  Though our similarity with the Roman Catholic Church is great, there are also some differences.


Baptism incorporates us into the Church, associates us with the Death and Resurrection of Christ unto new life, effects a forgiveness of sins, and orients us to the worship of God and the wider mission of the Church.  The ordinary minister of both sacraments is the priest or deacon.


The CCA teaches that all baptized Christians are worthy of receiving Holy Eucharist.  Other denominations refer to this as an Open Communion Table.  Some denominations teach that one must be in the state of grace to receive Communion, but we teach that Communion gives grace.  All of us, as sinners, need the grace of receiving the Body and Blood of Christ.


The sacrament of Marriage is open to all mature, loving adults who want to solemnize their union in the eyes of God and the Church.  Therefore, same-gender marriages are accepted in the CCA.  Couples who have had their marriages legally dissolved through divorce can re-marry within the CCA – as is the case in the Episcopal, Orthodox, and other Catholic (non-Roman) churches.  Divorce is not an obstacle to the reception of any of the sacraments (including the Eucharist).

Holy Orders

        Christ died for all of us.  Gender, sexuality, or marital status have nothing to do with the reception of any of the sacraments.  Therefore, women, married persons, and sexual members of the LGBTQ community can be ordained as deacons, priests, or bishops within the CCA.


Our liturgical celebrations are similar to other high liturgical services (e.g., Roman Catholic, Episcopal, Lutheran, etc.).  The CCA does adhere to the doctrine of transubstantiation.  Consistent with the teaching that God is neither male nor female, we strive to use language that is inclusive and not gender specific.

Catholic Church of the americas

  • facebook-square
  • Twitter Square
  • Google Square